Who was the 1st governor of New Mexico?

William C. McDonald, the first governor, took office on January 6, 1912.

Who was the first royal governor of New Mexico?

Originally constructed to house the first Spanish royal governor of New Mexico, Don Pedro de Peralta, the Palace of the Governors in Santa Fe reflects the complex heritage of the American Southwest.

Who are all the previous governors of New Mexico?

Former New Mexico Governors

Governor’s Name State Time in Office
Gov. Susana Martinez 2011 – 2019
Gov. Bill Richardson New Mexico 2003 – 2011
Gov. Gary E. Johnson New Mexico 1995 – 2003
Gov. Bruce King New Mexico 1991 – 1995 1979 – 1983 1971 – 1975

Who was the governor of New Mexico during the Mexican era?

List of Spanish governors of New Mexico

Spanish Governor of New Mexico
Formation November 1598
First holder Juan de Oñate
Final holder Facundo Melgares
Abolished January 1822

Who was governor of New Mexico in the early 1600’s?

State Capitol, Santa Fe, New Mexico. Founded in 1610 by Governor Don Pedro de Peralta, it was named Villa Real de la Santa Fé de San Francisco de Asis (Spanish: “Royal City of the Holy Faith of St. Francis of Assisi”) and developed around a central plaza.

IT\'S AMAZING:  Best answer: What airlines are at Cancun?

What is the name of the first Spanish governor?

The first European known to arrive there was Juan Ponce de León in 1513, but the governorship did not begin until 1565, when Pedro Menéndez de Avilés founded St.

First Spanish period, 1565–1763.

Name Term Notes
José de Zúñiga y la Cerda 1699 – 1706 later served as governor of Cartagena de Indias

Who was governor in 1971?

Ronald Reagan was the Governor of California for two terms, the first beginning in 1967 and the second in 1971. He left office in 1975, declining to run for a third term.

What was the first Spanish colony in New Mexico called?

Peralta was told that San Gabriel, the capital, was too far removed from the centers of population so in 1610 he founded Villa Nueva de Santa Fe. This was the first Spanish settlement in New Mexico and it became the focus of most activity during the seventeenth century.

What is the capital of New Mexico?

The six decades of the Santa Fe Trail cemented Santa Fe’s reputation as the commercial capital at Mexico’s northern border, and following New Mexico’s incorporation as a US State in 1911, Santa Fe became the state capital.

Who was the first governor after the Mexican independence?

List of Mexican governors of New Mexico

Mexican Governor of New Mexico
First holder Facundo Melgares
Final holder Juan Bautista Vigil y Alarid
Abolished September 1846
Succession Military Governors of New Mexico (U.S.)

Who became governor of New Mexico after the Mexican American War?

Manuel Armijo (ca. 1793–1853) was a New Mexican soldier and statesman who served three times as governor of New Mexico.

IT\'S AMAZING:  Frequent question: Are there wild elk in New Mexico?
Manuel Armijo
Nationality Spanish (1793-1821) Mexican (1821-1853)
Profession Soldier and politician

Who was the first Spanish governor of Louisiana?

Antonio de Ulloa

Ulloa was the first Spanish governor of Louisiana, and served under King Charles III. The French colonists rebelled against Spanish authority in 1768 and demanded his departure.